logo

logo

≡ Menu

Illamasqua Destiny – Review & Swatches

Categories: Nail Polish Reviews & Swatches

72 Flares 72 Flares ×

illamasqua destiny review swatches green nails

Think green nails are not for you? Well, maybe we can change your mind. Check out the new limited edition Illamasqua Destiny!

Launched to celebrate 2014 Chinese New Year, this shade represents “new life that leaves bring to a bare wooden bark in the spring”. The polish is a tasteful combination of gold and lime glitter in a green jelly base and is truly a one of a kind, beautiful nail shade. Plus, it is only available in Australia which makes Illamasqua Destiny even more unique. Coincidentally, we’ll be celebrating Australia Day this weekend and green is one of our traditional colours. So yep, creative brains at Illamasqua killed two birds with one stone by releasing this shade. Whether you’re celebrating Chineese New Year or Australia Day, this shade will be spot on.

How does this new varnish perform? Read our full review below.

illamasqua destiny review 1illamasqua destiny green nail polish swatchesillamasqua destiny green nail polish

REVIEW:

  • Formula: Very thick & easy to apply. Also fast drying, & 3-free.
  • Application: 1 coat will ensure full coverage. We applied 2 coats as an experiment. No major difference – 2 coats just look a bit darker than 1 coat.
  • Finish: Fine and hexagonal gold and lime glitter particles in a grass green jelly base. High density of glitter in this nail polish makes the surface very bumpy and uneven, so it is recommended to apply 2-3 layers of a high gloss top coat to even it all out.
  • Brush: Soft brush, easy to use.
  • Wearability: With a top coat it lasted 3 days chip free.
  • Nail Art: Perfect as a base for nail art or as a base layer for the glitter in glitter gradients.
  • Extra comments: Note,  as with any glitter polish, it’s a bit difficult to remove. You’ll need to use the soaking method.

illamasqua destiny review swatches 1

Disclaimer: products were provided by PR, opinions expressed are our own. Full disclosure policy can be found here.

Overall Impression: A beautiful statement shade, a real eye candy! Whether you’re a glitter nail polish fan or just want to try something different for your nails, try Illamasqua Destiny – you’ll love it. 

SoNailicious Recommends

Availability: $22.50, available now exclusively at Myer.

How do you like Illamasqua Destiny? Did it change your opinion about green nails?

Did you enjoy this post?
Subscribe to SoNailicious Newsletter to get our weekly email updates or follow us via Bloglovin for daily updates.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on Twitter6Pin on Pinterest1,867Email this to someoneShare on Google+18
  • Cait January 20, 2014, 7:58 am

    Ah! This is superb! I’m wishing I lived in Australia right now!
    Cait recently posted…Elevation Polish – These Boots Were… [Swatch]My Profile

    • Maria V January 20, 2014, 5:44 pm

      Well, everything is possible! In addition to that we have some of the best indies here, in Australia ;)

  • Lou January 20, 2014, 8:33 am

    Absolutely stunning. I know green isn’t for everyone but it is one of my absolute favourites. I love this xx

    • Maria V January 20, 2014, 5:44 pm

      Exactly! Usually I’m not big on green but this shade is just so stunning.

  • Priyanjana January 21, 2014, 6:31 am

    This is just beautiful!!!
    Priyanjana recently posted…Try free product samples with Social Noise and my experienceMy Profile

  • Sara January 21, 2014, 6:57 pm

    This is a gorgeous green shade! I’m in love with it! <3

    • Maria V January 21, 2014, 9:26 pm

      Indeed, it’s pretty amazing! Illamasqua creatives did such a great a job with this one.

  • Eliana January 21, 2014, 8:37 pm

    This is an amazing nail polish and these photos are great!
    In this review you write: “Formula: Very thick & easy to apply. Also fast drying, & 3-free.” but I remember that these nail polishes are not 3Free, as I read on the Ilammasqua’s page: “Illamasqua Nail Varnishes do not contain Toluene, DBP, Formaldehyde gas or added Formalin (liquid Formaldehyde). They do contain Formaldehyde resin.” (http://www.illamasqua.com/socialise/nail-varnish-ingredients/).
    Is this a new formula?
    Thank you

    • Maria V January 21, 2014, 9:24 pm

      Hi Eliana,
      Yes, that’s right they are 3-free as you noted they do not contain “Illamasqua Nail Varnishes do not contain Toluene, DBP, Formaldehyde gas or added Formalin (liquid Formaldehyde)” but they do contain Formaldehyde resin. If they wouldn’t contain Formaldehyde resin they would be 4-free. Formaldehyde and Formaldehyde Resin are different chemicals. The 5-th chemical is Camphor which they also contain. So Illamasqua is not 4-free or 5-free, they are a solid 3-free brand.
      To find out a bit more about our rating system, check out this section: http://sonailicious.com/nail-blog-sonailicious/product-reviews-disclosure/ – there are more details on 3-free and 5-free nail polishes.
      Hope this helps!
      Maria x

      • Eliana January 21, 2014, 10:14 pm

        Hi Maria,
        thank you so much for your reply. I had some confusion about 3-4-5 free and you really helped me.
        Will be a pleasure for me to follow this site (and the Facebook page).
        From Italy …. Bye! :)
        Eliana

        • Maria V January 22, 2014, 12:48 am

          You’re welcome Eliana! Always happy to help :)
          Maria x

  • Elina January 23, 2014, 4:55 pm

    My favourites colors for nails are green and blue. And I love this color! I want to Australia. :D

  • sabbatha January 28, 2014, 7:59 am

    wow, this is a stunning and perfect shade, I love it and definetely need to get it!
    sabbatha recently posted…A England Saint GeorgeMy Profile

  • Squeaky Q February 4, 2014, 10:44 pm

    Gah that is stunning. I wish it would be available worldwide though!
    Squeaky Q recently posted…Squeaky Nails’ First Blogiversary GIVEAWAY!My Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

BROWSE SONAILICIOUS BY:

Brand: Colour: Product: Occasion:

72 Flares Facebook 48 Twitter 6 Email -- Google+ 18 72 Flares ×